Bengkulu is known as the exile house of Soekarno, this city also has fortress built by British in the 18th Century, called Fort Marlborough. The fortress is Bengkulu 0 Km and it was designed in the shape of turtle, only 50 meters from Bengkulu coast line, not far from Chinatown
In 1912, Joseph Collett, docked his ship at Bencoolen and he found out that Fort York was which was erected in 1685 was in terrible situation and he suggested to move the fort to Carrang. In 1714, his suggestion was approved and named the fort as Marlborough derives from British national hero, Jogn Churchill, which is titled as Duke of Marlborough. After Joseph Collett other governor in position was Thiophilus Shyllinge (1716-1717), Richard Farmer (1717-1718) dan Thomas Cooke.
Fort Marlborough is the strongest fort in the East we can see until today. The front door is made out of iron which is in excellent condition. Visitors usually like to take picture here.
The fort was center of British activities until 1824. The fort was then under Dutch possession after London Treaty in 17 March of 1824, which British gave all its authority in Bengkulu. Dutch was in power until 1942 when the Japanese occupied Bengkulu until 1945.
It has a museums inside the fort where we can also see historical cannons and gravestones. Visitors can hike up to the fortress and see the Hindian ocean and the city view and Tapak Padri and Panjang Beach. According to our local guide the fort has documents about Sumatra Island’s natural resources